A Soul’s Corpse

My soul is a blond-haired boy in green athletic shorts
with Blood like wine and fiery eyes;
he hates the stars but hates the moon
and loves the wind with whispering winds.

It reminded me of the love inside the heart,
how it comes and goes like a strange waiter serving you things you did not order.
Oh, bring me what I want, not what you want.
Because I am not you, you see?
And you should and cannot tell me what is I.

In the dark I sit, back against bark, wrapped in shadows strange, dappled cloak; waiting for when I end.
The pain was too great for me to handle the loss,
the pain was a Greyhound bus that waited to swallow me, to crush me, ready to break my body. Spill my blood, I don’t need it anyway.

He sighs, “I guess I’d better start from the beginning.”
Well. Now’s as good a time as any.
Let’s go where leaves flutter and fall,
the air smelled fresh and new in the dark.
Your hands found my skin, your hands found my mind and got inside it.
Oh darling, please let go.

I will slowly, slowly kill you, my dear, and then set fire to the dark night!!
Through the fire’s light I’ll see your corpse’s face finally smile in peace and in truth.
Then you’ll see this sight and know though we may be crushed while our light shines, when we are extinguished peace will come.

In the end I know that every piece of me was going to be okay.
It would be complete,
the soul new.

~by the Nightlights
**including — Owl, Nessie, Wolf, Castor, and Otter

2 thoughts on “A Soul’s Corpse

  1. euphoriaraw says:

    Great job! Very deep, puzzling, and dangerously beautiful! The poem went great with the calm and suttle meditation music playing through my headset while I read!

    Euphoria Raw

    Like

Leave a comment